Pre-Trip Reflections

Journaling at Logan Airport

From the Journal of: Faetitia
Aug 5, 2011
The emotions that overwhelm me right now are excitement, sadness, happiness, and many more but it’s way too early to list them all. I must say I feel so privileged and blessed to be going on this trip because my best friend, aka oartner in crime, other half could not come. I’m going to try my best to enjoy it for her.
Excited! Although she could not come I’m so excited to go to another country, to feel and breathe a complete different part of the world. I can’t wait to put my 3 years of Spanish to use.
Till next time =)
*ILY Kim

From the Journal of: Yvesha
August 5, 2011
Omg! Omg! Omg! Omg! You I can’t begin to tell you how excited I am. Right now the excitement just hit me and I feel like I have Keyshawn’s excitement. What to expect?? I have absolutely no idea. But I know that I don’t know one lick of Spanish. Experience! I just can’t wait to experience the culture, environment, etc. and although I may not have the money, water bottle, electronics, etc, I feel that this journal is all that I will be needing.

From the Journal of: Erica
August 5, 2011
We are sitting at Logan Airport waiting to board a flight to Miami. I am feeling ready. There is a tinge of sadness today, as we are missing one member of our Get Fresh Crew family. Kim turned her foot and cannot put any weight on her leg so she could not attend the trip. I dedicate this trip to her. Kim’s spirit is with us on this trip because she put her soul into raising the money necessary to get here. I hope this trip is like Kim: peaceful, hilarious, full of love, and empowering. I promise to fully be in every moment, to soak up every opportunity, because that is what Kim would do and that’s what she wants us to do.

These moments are filled with nerves and excitement: What will it really be like in Guatemala? How long will our service days be? Will it rain a lot? Will we get sick from altitude or traveling? Will we stick out like sore thumbs? Will my complete lack of Spanish-speaking ability hold me back?
I know this trip will be intense and life-changing for everyone. That is all that matters. We will have an experience and we will have it together. And you, our readers, will be here with us and we will be with you through our words, videos, and photos.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pre-Trip Reflections

  1. Lynley Gates says:

    have an amazing time! praying for your health and safety ❤ Lynley & Rachel

Leave a Reply

